Title Info




Useful Information:

Related Maps:

Shigatse Geography (Hits:)

On the southwest frontier of China and in the southwest of Qinghai-Tibet Plateau, Shigatse connects with Ali to the west, leans Nagqu to the north, and adjoins Lhasa and Shannan to the east and borders on Nepal, Bhutan and Sikkim, sharing a part of frontier of 1,753 kilometers. It has an area of 3,875 square kilometers and average altitude above 3800 meters. There are one county-level city (Shigatse), seventeen counties (Gyantse, Bailang, Kangma, Yatung, Renbu, Nanmulin, Xietongmen, Lhatse, Sakya, Gangba, Tingjie, Tingri, Nyalam, Jilong, Angren, Saga and Zhongba), one port (Zhangmu, the biggest national commercial port in Tibet). Its population of 82,000 consists of 16 nationalities including Tibetan (more than 97.8%), Han, Hui, Mongol, Tu, Manchu, Hmong, Zhuang and etc, as well as 1875 Sherpas. The population accounts for one fourth of the total population in Tibet, with density of 3.3 people per square kilometer. They mainly inhabit the Brahmaputra valley with a few in the pastoral area of the west.

Partner Links:

Copyright ©1998-2007 China Maps.Info. All rights reserved.
china maps